The Locarno Film Festival has shared its 2021 numbers, to follow up on its commitments on gender equality after signing the SWAN pledge.

1) Numbers of the Official Selection

- a) Feature films 1,375 feature films were submitted to be part of the 2021 official selection.
- 57 feature films are presented in the following sections: Piazza Grande: Prefestival, Piazza Grande, Concorso internazionale, Concorso Cineasti del presente, Fuori concorso, the World or International premieres selected in Histoire(s) du Cinéma. Retrospective films (neither World nor International premieres) are not included in the total number of films.
- **b)** Short films 3,057 short films were submitted and viewed by the programming committee. 46 shorts films are presented in the following sections: Piazza Grande: Prefestival, Pardi di domani and the World and International premieres presented in Open Doors: Shorts.

2) Towards Gender Equality

a) Organisation of the Locarno Film Festival

The Board of Directors of the Locarno Film Festival, made up of 26 persons appointed for a term of 3 years by the Assembly of Members, includes 6 women. (23% women). The Executive Board is composed of 3 men and 1 woman: President, Marco Solari, Vice President, Carla Speziali, Federico Jolli and Alain Scherrer. The Direction is composed of 1 woman and 2 men: Artistic Director, Giona A. Nazzaro, Chief Operating Officer, Raphaël Brunschwig, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, Simona Gamba.

b) The Selection Committee

3 women are part of the Feature Film Selection Committee (Mathilde Henrot, Daniela Persico and Pamela Biénzobas) together with 2 men (Giovanni Marchini Camia and Stefan Ivančić) (60% women).

The Pardi di domani Selection Committee is composed of 2 women (Valeria Wagner and Anne Gaschütz) and 2 men (Eddie Bertozzi and Enrico Vannucci) (50% women) The advisors include 2 women (Tiny Mungwe and Jihan El Tahri) and 5 men (Eddie Bertozzi, John Nein, Olaf Möller, Manlio Gomarasca and KIM Young-woo) (29% women).

c) Juries

The official Juries at Locarno 74 are composed as follows:

Concorso internazionale:

3 women, 2 men: Eliza Hittman (President), Isabella Ferrari, Leonor Silveira, Kevin Jerome Everson, Philippe Lacôte.

Concorso Cineasti del presente: 3 women: Agathe Bonitzer, Mattie Do and Vanja Kaludjercic.

First Feature: 2 women, 1 man: Karina Ressler, Katharina Wyss and Amjad Abu Alala.

Pardi di domani (short films): 2 women, 1 man: Marie-Pierre Macia, Adina Pintilie, Kamal Aljafari.

- d) Female directors in the Selection process The Locarno Film Festival has methodically counted the female directors submitting their film for the Selection, as well as the female directors selected in the main competitions, with the results as below. The gender of direction was calculated based on the SWAN (Swiss Women's Audiovisual Network) method that defines 4 categories (woman, man, non-binary, and mixed direction). A fifth category was added to include the "prefers not to disclose" choice.
- 22,6% of the directors submitting a feature film were women
- 33,7% of the directors submitting a short film were women

e) Selected female directors

These statistics include films from: Piazza Grande: Prefestival, Piazza Grande, Concorso internazionale, Concorso Cineasti del presente, Pardi di domani, Fuori concorso, the World or International premieres selected in Histoire(s) du Cinéma and Open Doors.

- 28% of the directors with a feature film were women
- 41,3% of the directors with a short film selected were women

Number of female directors part of the 2021 Official Selection:

- 4 in Concorso internazionale
- 2 in Piazza Grande and 1 in Piazza Grande: Prefestival
- 8 in Concorso Cineasti del presente
- 1 in Fuori concorso
- 1 in Histoire(s) du cinéma
- 2 in Pardi di domani: Concorso Corti d'autore and 1 co-direction
- 9 in Pardi di domani: Concorso internazionale
- 4 in Pardi di domani: Concorso nazionale and 2 co-directions
- 3 in Open Doors: Shorts

Total: 35 female directors (16 for the feature films and 19 for the shorts film) and 62 male directors (40 feature films directors and 22 short films directors).